Sketchbook Time

Our fifth and fourth grade artists spent their first days in art making their sketchbooks – assembling them, decorating the covers, and working on their first sketchbook assignment – a hand project.  They also learned how to draw some new fun zentangles.  Fifth and fourth graders will keep their sketchbooks in the art room and use them throughout the year –  when they have extra art time, to take art notes, and for working through ideas.

Sketchbook cover

  

Sketchbook hand project

  

Zentangles

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

3 thoughts on “Sketchbook Time

  1. Hi Jousette
    I love the negative hand and texture project. I will try it as a name art project with first graders- just write names instead of texture. Thanks for posting.

  2. Hi, Could you tell me if you have your own bookmaking machine? I just had some made for my class at a local print shop but it would be cheaper if I had a machine.

  3. Hi Ruth – nope, but a bookmaking machine WOULD be nice for sketchbooks. I order my bookmaking kits from SAX Arts & Crafts….the kids keep their sketchbooks for two years so I think they are a pretty good bargain. Check for SAX Spiral Bound Sketchbook & Journal Making Kit – 6×9 inches, sets of 30.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *