Why is Blue Dog Blue?

Third Graders are finishing up their study of Louisiana artist George Rodrigue, who has been painting “Blue Dog” since the 1980’s.  Since we have been learning about the art element of color in the 3rd grade, George Rodrigue’s exploration with color and words is a fun way to wrap up our color study.  We enjoyed Rodrigue’s book – take a peek here…and then see three of our own blue dog creations!    

 Rodrigue’s Book, “Why is Blue Dog Blue?”

 

Three of our “Blue Dog” third grade artists!

 

 

 

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

6 thoughts on “Why is Blue Dog Blue?

  1. Hello Mrs Brouwer,
    Thankyou for you comments on our Visual Arts Blog here in Melbourne Australia. I can understand how you you must be looking forward to the Spring when it seems to be so cold for so long where you are. We have just had 3 days in a row of temperatures of 109.4F,111.2F and 113.18F here and we’ve certainly sweltered.
    I absolutely love your students’ great work inspired by “The Blue Dog”. I would like to see our students try that later in the first half year if I can get the book here. Please congratulate the brilliant artists with the wonderful smiles .We are not allowed to put photohraphs of our students’ faces on the Internet. I’m hoping they will change that policy soon.
    Our students begin school on Monday 2nd Feb so I will soon have some student work to post.
    Best Regards, Yvonne Osborn.

  2. Hi Yvonne! Glad you enjoyed our blue dog project – there is an awesome George Rodrigue UTube video that I show my kids; I will forward that link to you. Sounds like we have a little more leeway with posting our pix and showing the kids….we do have a parent list of kids that we may not show, and I never identify their whole name. It is nice to be able to show the artist sometimes too! Hey, here are some “Blue Dog” tips…sometimes we do the project in tempera paint, but this year we did the background separate, then drew our blue doggies in oil pastel – the results were stunning and EVERY student’s dog was a success, which is always good to see. The eyes are the most difficult for the kids, so this year I hit upon a “help”…we used white stick-on 3/4” label dots and used a hole puncher to punch out the centers. Then the kids colored the dots with yellow oil pastel and the pupil with black. So easy for them and it worked very well. A cool trick! -josey
    .

  3. I love these!!! I have been showing my classes. Can you tell me what they used on the background to draw?
    Thank you so much,
    Maria

  4. Thanks, Maria! The background is large construction paper – 18×24 I think. They drew the starry night with silver sharpie markers.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *